Meet the team: Steve Kirby

Steve Kirby
Lead Games Designer

What does an average day at work look like for you?

I’m happy to say I don’t have many average days. I work as a lead designer under Sandro and Laurence on multiple areas of Elite. That means what I do from day to day changes and there is always something interesting to work on.

One day I could be adding a new type of in space scenario or adding dialogue for NPCs and another I will be working on a treasure hunt or community created CGs (All hail Nebula Goat!) or adding hazardous res sites and compromised beacons, another I’ll be adding gameplay to planets and the next I’ll be working out new mechanics with the other members of the design team. 

We’re a close team and it’s great when you need to bounce ideas around. That’s one of the best things about being a designer on Elite, to quote Forrest Gump, it’s like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get. You get to work on multiple areas of the game and work with a great team to make the vision we have for the game a reality. 

On a more personal level, I’m particularly interested in adding more and more content to the game, so in addition to the content I add during the day, I also spend any spare minutes I find in the day trying to squeeze a new scenario here or there to add some more colour to the galaxy.  After all we have a lot of space to fill and you can never have enough content.

I have to say I love my job, even on the days where we’re all stressed and nothing is working as it should and a deadline is looming. To work on a game you’ve loved since you were a kid and with a great team, I don’t think you can ask for more than that.

What aspect of the game have you worked on that you are most proud of?